Gold Portion

Assalammualaikum Wr Wb

Today I am going to share a good news regards to my breastfeeding journey.

Alhamdulillah, it all started with an intention and He makes it easy for me and Princess. Initially, she would latch and let go by herself within a few seconds and go all crying cause she “lost” the nip – just like her second brother. It was difficult at first, at the hospital she would cry bloody murder and the nurses have to look in to see everything’s okay.

But after few days of “practice”, she got the hang of it and things got easier. For now. it’s feeding on demand – whenever wherever she wants it. She would be latching on one side and the other ….. leave it for another hour.. so you can imagine the engorgement I have if the other side left without latching. Lucky for me, I have my Spectra S9 to save me.

Why in the world I think that Avent Manual Pump was the best initially? What I have now is so much easier and faster and I don’t go all tired in the end. The yield was better and goooood… It was really good….

IMG_3473

ALHAMDULILLAH! Everytime I opened up the freezer to add on more, seeing this batch for the first week after giving birth is totally mind-blowing. I did not get this amount of Gold Portion for the first two. It was hard as I was too tired to pump, they were clingy each time I want to pump, my diet went wrong – all this sums up to low supply.

This time around even when Princess does not wake up for her feed, I would pump. At times she will wake up while I am pumping – it’s like she knows she’s gonna miss some Gold Portions. So I would latch her on the side which I was pumping out. This – I read – makes my supply even more. Especially when we pumped after latch. No wonder I feel IT is always full. Alhamdulillah.

Currently I am yielding about 50-60ml each side. Which is not much actually – but it does help in future. I wanna keep more than enough stash so I need not worry whether she will be left hungry at Infant Care later on when she gets to enrol. I remember I was so stressed up that there wasn’t enough milk left at home for my firstborn. In Sha Allah, this incident won’t happen again.

So now – keep calm and keep on latching & pumping….

“Mothers shall breastfeed their children for two whole years, for those who wish to complete the term” (2:233).

May He grant me patience and perseverence…

Till my next better piece…

Published by

Babbling Words

Faith. Lifestyle. Seafarer's wife. Mother. Children

Leave a Reply

